Peace Beyond the Cage–and Thank God It’s FRIDAY!!!

“Peace is not the absence of conflict.  It comes from the ability to cope with that conflict.”–From “The Wind is  My Mother” by Bear Heart

I don’t understand how it can be that some people seem to have this “shiny-happy-people” existence while others seem to muddle through life via one cage after another–some of them of others’ making and some of them of their own making.  

If I take a good look at Bear Heart’s comment above, it makes me come to one of those “apocalyptic epiphanies” that nobody has the “shiny-happy-people” life unless they are on some serious anti-depression medication or are just pretty damned lucky.  Then you’ve got people (like yours truly) who have somewhat of a mixture–kicking down the bars to each cell I get thrown into one bar at a time.

Every moment of my life has had conflict in it.  I’ll take it in literary terms here…Most often in my cell (about which I will one day finish writing a novel) I had to endure man vs. man, man vs. self and man vs. environment.  I’ve had to fend off bullies, deal with five stepmothers that I know of–(I stopped keeping track of Dad’s nuptials when I was 18).  I’ve had to deal with arctic blizzards with kids in tow, man vs. society–because there is no such damned thing as “normal” because that word gets redefined every 20 years or so.

It’s bad enough that all results of Historical significance can be boiled down to 4G’s–and I don’t mean money or drugs…I mean THE 4 G’s:  God, Greed, Gold and Gold-Diggers…Stop and think about this for a second…WHY did the Spaniards listen to Dona Maria and kill off whole ethnic groups of people?  Get it yet?  Then under “greed” there is a lust for power.  Hitler and Stalin had it.  Mussolini had it, Chairman Mao had it, Kim Jong Il DOES have it and so does Iran’s leader.

Has anyone on here sat and REALLY read “The Communist Manifesto“?  IF one did, then he/she knows communism can never truly work because Marxism in its PUREST form sounds more like living in a hippie commune.  It looks good on paper but got bastardized by those who wanted to use that writing for their own gain in much the same fashion that the Bible was used in trying to justify “The Crusades“.  However one can easily decipher why pure communism (under Marx’s ideal–which no communist nation follows) will not work:  It is because it is designed around an idea that humanity does not have the inherent traits of greed and lust for power.  As long as anyone remains that could cause conflict over greed and power, it can NEVER truly work for a sustainable time.  It is those at the top of the food chain that will ultimately bring it down. Why?  Because everybody wants to rule the world!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ST86JM1RPl0

There is one thing people can do to help bring about peace in our world and it starts by finding inner peace.  How can one be at peace at the world when one is not happy with his/her own life?  It’s simple.  Accept things you have absolutely no control over and look for ways to find a positive in a negative situation.   Let the rest of the world pursue whatever they want of the “4G’s” but be content with what you have.  There are people worse off than we are.  IF you don’t believe that today, then turn on the news channel and look at Japan.

Ultimately we have NO control over tomorrow until it arrives, and we have no control over yesterday so the here and now is what we have to work on.  We need to get rid of some of the things we were programmed into being.  I know of a song called “Ain’t That Unusual” by the Goo Goo Dolls.  One particular line strikes a chord with me:  “…All we are is what we’re told and most of that’s been lies…”   Why would that be true?  It is true when we’ve let other people dictate our lives for us instead of choosing our own way–and in order to be out of that cage, we have to forge our own path in life.  No one can live our lives for us. Trust me…If they could, I’d let them have mine–bad credit rating and all…I’m sure there aren’t many who will disagree with that one either!

A sense of humor is also key.  Many people seem to let themselves be weighed down about circumstances not realizing that most of the minor circumstances that tick us all off are things we should by laughing hysterically about.   Why?  They too shall pass.  Now if one is an intellectual, or a pseudo-intellectual, then this is a song that might just cheer you up a bit:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m_WRFJwGsbY

After all, I don’t know many people who the Monty Python cast can’t crack up!  And for those who celebrated St. Patrick’s Day in an intellectual light, I am sure that it will make you forget life’s circumstances–at least for a little while.  Anyway today of all days should be one during which we all bust out of the cage for a bit and let our hair down long enough to have a good time–especially since it is Friday!  We can worry about the plight of humanity into oblivion on another day!

And for those of you who will party and partake of the dram tonight, this is what you’ll be singing in the morning!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2oUr19aVUCU

Can you tell I watch Star Trek?  LOL!  I hope you had a great St. Patrick’s Day, folks! I just kicked down another bar in the cell! I hope you have a smile on your faces now!  I know I do! I’m going to enjoy another evening out under the moon tonight!  The weather is great, the breeze is warm and I simply cannot wait to get back to my mountain next week!

What a beautiful sight tonight!

One comment on “Peace Beyond the Cage–and Thank God It’s FRIDAY!!!

Leave a Reply

