Chew on this for a bit…

On September 10, 2011, I could not sleep.  Not too long before a young singer named Aaliyah died in a horrific plane crash.  As I was watching mourners line the streets on the day of her funeral, I looked at a co-worker and said, “I don’t know why but I feel as though this is a pre-cursor.  Something is about to change and I feel it.”  She thought I was going to win on another lottery ticket.  I had won $500 twice, a month and  a half apart.  That night, as I said, neither my son Brian nor myself could sleep at all.  We started feeling apprehensive and praying.  I don’t pray much but I felt that I had to that night.  When I felt a release in my spirit then was I able to lie down and sleep.

I was doing my student teaching at the time.  I was at a junior high school, on what I thought would be a typical morning.  I had my materials laid out and was excited to see how the students worked together well.  Just as I entered the room all was silent and the TV was on.  Mrs. Broadrick, my mentor teacher, had informed me that the World Trade Center had been attacked.  Since the administration deemed this a historical event, the TV’s would remain on inside the classrooms.

I was watching when the 2nd plane hit on a playback.  I sat down and whispered “We’re going to war.  This was no accident.”  At first some thought it was.  The children were all upset.  They couldn’t think about anything but what they realized was an enormous amount of destruction .  They thought of other children who had lost parents, grandparents, siblings and/or other relatives–as well as thinking that children their own age also parished.  In 16 minutes, those kids gained a sense of their own mortality that some adults have not even yet grasped.

Then there was one boy in particular that I will call “Rocky”.    His parents were on a trip and he begged us all to try to call Dulles airport  to see what flight his parents were on.  He  began to cry and throw a fit.  I got him to calm down and had them try to call his older brother. When his brother came to the school, he sat down with Rocky and told him, “Rocky they were not at Dulles airport, they left from Dallas! I talked to them and they said they are fine and to let you know not to  worry.”  That calmed him down and he went back to class, but then he began thinking…He drew a picture of what he’d seen in his classroom.   Eventually these would become part of his own scrapbook.  He quickly told us how he felt sad for the kids whose parents, brothers, sisters, grandparents, etc…would never come home.

Kids were drawing pictures for two weeks.  Even when trying to get on task, it was difficult for them to stay there.  As the days passed, they began writing letters and making cards for children they had never met.  No one has ever forgotten that day that lived through it–and no one who remembers it will ever forget it.  It is as engrained in our memories just as the memories of the attack on Pearl Harbor are engrained in the minds of another generation.

As the news of the death of Osama Bin Laden has begun to sink in, people have expressed every emotion imaginable–from grief for those lost because of the acts of this evil man–to fear for what may come at the hands of his underlings.  I don’t feel that there is any real closure as long as there are people who will follow such doctrines as al-Qaeda.  There will never be peace as long as those of this mentality are allowed to exert power over populations who fear them–and as long as they continue to murder and mutilate those who do not agree with them.  A population that is subjugated by fear and intimidation is never free.  Our forefathers knew that freedom came with a price.  That is one thing we must never forget.

Just as the battle cry at the Battle of San Jacinto was “Remember the Alamo! Remember Goliad!” after the slaughters Santa Anna was responsible for,  we must adopt a new battle cry as a nation.  This is far from over.  We knew this from the beginning.  In order to remain free, we must keep fighting until the last Al Qaeda and Taliban operatives are subdued, and the dictatorial leaders who support them put in their places once and for all.  Above all, we must not allow our own anxiety over things that haven’t happened to cripple us as a nation.  We shouldn’t have to be looking over our shoulders.  In this country, we should keep our eyes facing forward, never letting ourselves lose grip on the wheel for a second. When we do, that is when the “what ifs” start to creep in.

I have accepted that in order to keep what we have as a nation, we must fight off those who seek to destroy us.  There are those who simply want fighting to stop, even if it means we end up losing more than a simple pissing contest between political parties.  They live in their own world, where anyone who takes up arms in the military is an enemy to whatever it is they believe in and (God Forbid!) they keep arms to protect their own families and homes.  I may not own a gun, but it is imperative that those who are law-abiding be able to do so.

Our policemen our terribly outnumbered by street gangs and (soon) terrorists.  Our nation must remain vigilant and we must stop teaching its children lies about being a “good world citizen” because in the event that the fantasy of a one world system becomes a reality, who will be running it?  Iran?  China?  Some dictator with penis envy?  Think about it.  Nobody will convince me that one day the whole world will live in peace with open borders, and a world religion (much to the atheist’s dismay) will be suited to all.  As long as civilization has a tendency toward greed and lust for power, there will never be any such damned thing as “one world united”.  It won’t happen!  Somebody that is high up in power will always want to be in charge of it all, and there will always be people scheming in the wings to overthrow it–which will happen.  Alexander the Great tried to set up such crap before and his empire still fell.

Chew on that for a while.  In such a system, one group would have to be subjugated for the benefit of others.  That is a disaster waiting to happen.  It breeds resentment and discontent.  Eventually, it leads to overthrow–and has repeated itself in history many, many times…

3 comments on “Chew on this for a bit…

  1. Wow! That IS a lot to chew on. I bet you were an amazing social studies teacher. It’s interesting, I felt this great sense of relief when I heard Osama bin Laden was killed. I didn’t know I would feel that way, but I really felt a physical sense of tension being released and a big sigh of relief. I worry too about what’s to come next and if the death will insight more violence as retribution.

    I haven’t stopped by your site in way too long, and the website is now on hyper-drive. Cool! I need to do some expansion over at Momsicle, so thanks for the inspiration! Also wanted to say that you are such an awesome commenter. I keep trying to get others involved like you are, but it’s slow-going, which made me realize even more how awesome you are. Happy May!

Leave a Reply

