I am Severely PO’d! Heart worms are Preventable People! Inside Pets can get them too!

Where do I begin?  I have dealt with a lot of crap in my life, but I am so angry today, I don’t know whether to yell at someone or what!  I am going to make this short and to the point.  Heart-worms are preventable.  They are caused when animals get bitten by mosquitoes (per my vet) and I am highly pissed that our family pet, Buddy has them.  This dog has lived with other members of my family for years and we always kept his heart worm meds and shots up to date, but I found out that over the past year and a half, he hasn’t even been taken to a vet because he is mostly an “inside animal”…

I took Buddy in today for his shots and his blood test came back positive for heart worms.  After reading the treatment instructions, I realize that curing him can make him just as sick.  I have to take that chance though.  He’s family.  At 12 years old, the treatment (which takes 8-10 weeks) is going to be hell on him and we can’t let him do anything more than go outside to relieve himself during the time of treatment as anything else can be too strenuous on his heart.

Bottom line:  GET the animals checked for heart worms and such when you’re supposed to!  Just because the pet stays inside doesn’t mean that they cannot get them!  I don’t know if I want to yell at the family or what, but I know that I have the money and I am taking this dog to the vet. He will be taken care of or he’s moving  in with ME! Period! End of discussion!  I shall go FUME now!

Buddy at Christmas 2010 I won't say who those are that are caring for him, but they are getting a piece of my mind! Sorry.

One comment on “I am Severely PO’d! Heart worms are Preventable People! Inside Pets can get them too!

Leave a Reply

