Reflections II

While most who know me know I still have a few days in the year where I become totally anti-social and complaining about everything from romantic love being a myth on those days (among other things) to borderline total recluse again, I have come a long way in the past 2 1/2 years.  It started with this blog…

http://www.fizgiggery.com/2009/anecdotes-observations/a-short-story-about-karma-2

From there I read “the Alchemist” by Paulo Coelho, which you can get here:  http://www.amazon.com/Alchemist-Paulo-Coelho/dp/0061122416/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1313791433&sr=1-1   or here:  http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/alchemist-paulo-coelho/1100248293?ean=9780061122415&itm=1&usri=the%2balchemist

You can also get this on a nook download, and the B&N nook downloads also work on Pandigital readers. I know. I have one.

Dr. Wayne Dyer also has a movie out called “The Shift“.  It is well worth watching also.  It has a lot of truth in here pertinent to what I am saying.

Every door through which we pass is not an ending.  It is always a change of direction–but this can be more of an opportunity, whether it be to learn and grow, or to move into something totally different from what you are doing now. If you start viewing things in this light, then losing the job isn’t such a bad thing.  I walked away from being a correctional sergeant due to all the corruption and the fact that the cliques run my old unit than anything else.

These “cliques” are most often ran by administration.  Once they run out of officers to gang up on (and do not think that this doesn’t happen, I saw it happen for years) they will go to their house and eat their own young.  If they have no kids, they’ll eat their pets…Anyway, that is not what I want to focus on.  People like that are like the snake that beheads itself by eating itself from the tail upward until there is nothing left.

Now if you are in a situation like that, you should never be of a train of thought that there is nowhere else to turn to and/or nowhere  else to go…As I said, where one door closes, another opens.  It always works that way–if you allow it to.  Instead of saying, “Okay…I got laid off (fired, demoted, etc…). Turn that thought around.  This is not new-agey…It works.  Just say to yourself, “A new job is there…” and don’t waste time dwelling on the one just lost.  Just start hitting the pavement and fill out the applications, send out the resumes or whatever, but believe that job is there.  Check back within a week to ensure that they have the “correct contact information” for you on file.  That’s also a good way to let an employer know that you are actually wanting to work and not just fulfilling a requirement for some agency such as The Department of Human Services to receive TANF, Food Stamps or whatever.  You cannot just fill things out, drop them off and leave it.  You’ll never get called back that way.  Always show that you are earnest as well as confident–but don’t be pushy.  Just smile–YES SMILE and show a positive attitude.

I also feel that this is another good book to get your hands on…”How to Win Friends and Influence People” by Dale Carnegie…Get it at a used book place because it’s cheap there.   If nothing else, begin to work on your own “self-image“…How do YOU see yourself?  Smile.  It does help.  Nine times out of ten, it is not anything that you are doing or saying preventing you from getting that job, but how you see yourself.  Believe it or not, if you feel negatively about your own self-image, that is what you will project to an employer.

Here is one more thing I suggest you do whether you are male or female:  Dress up dammit!  Seriously! Dress up and go someplace–even if it’s to a restaurant just for a cup of coffee and read a book.  If you make a habit of dressing up, even if out of work, you will eventually carry yourself in such a way that people will see confidence in you…So that is two things you need to have energy-wise coming from inside of your inner-self:  Confidence and positive attitude.  They go hand in hand.

I have a job and I am quite happy with it.  I did not like the person I was becoming while working at the prison.  I was skeptical, trusting absolutely NOBODY and didn’t want to be around anyone when I got off of work.   I was sinking back into a reclusive lifestyle and I knew I had to change from that.  Do I have days that I still wish to be left alone? Definitely.  We all do.  Do I have days where I am tempted to go right back into shutting everybody out?  Yes…What stops me?  The fact that that link Lauren has got me to thinking about something besides the junk I had to experience.

This life is not about what YOU gain or take with you…No…It’s about what you can give back.  That is what I’ve learned so far in my life in the past two years and it was the first link I shared with you that convinced me that there had to be “more than this” while I was working in that prison–while building a new cage for myself.    Have a great weekend!  I hope that this helps in some way because I know it worked for me.

Leave a Reply

