Signing Off for Now…

I am going through a period of self-reflection at this moment.  It is something that I must do on my own.  I will still passionately speak out against school bullying and such and continue posting the “Centuries Under the Moon” blogs as requested.  However, I will not be socializing much as of late. I will not be traveling much until the weather is warmer.

I suppose that I feel bad because I am so blunt when I post things.  I cannot lie and I have to post what I honestly feel at the time my fingers go nuts over the keyboard. Evidently some people that I hang out with have decided that they cannot handle my opinion of life which is this:  It is what you make it.  Your decisions will land you either in a hotbed of bull or they will enable you to grow and branch out.  Those who stand by me will see this, but those who choose not to do so should at least do me the courtesy of telling me what their issue is and we can try to resolve it, or they will find themselves by the wayside in my life.

Once again I have cut three friends off who were very close to me because I overheard them saying things to others that should have been addressed with me.  At least I gave them the courtesy of telling them face to face.  NO, I wasn’t mean about it.  I just said that right now I feel like I’m related to Job and he had three good friends didn’t he? Then again, Job’s three good friends DID tell him what they thought face to face–probably because they felt enough love for the man to express their thoughts–even if they were wrong–if they existed at all, that is–so believe what you will.

I accept people as they are.  I don’t try to change them. To me that is the greatest gift one can give to a friend because it is an unconditional form of love.  A part of me loves to make people laugh. I love it when some people make me think–as Lauren Cross has done more than once.  I also love it when people have enough respect to speak their minds.

As for my writing, I free-write.  I speak my mind.  When it comes to mind, and it isn’t spoken, it will pour out through my pen, or the keyboard.  Writing was the only refuge I had growing up.  I used it to take care of business–whether it be creating characters to kill off that reminded me of the bullies I dealt with, or to try to put something positive to reach others–like the writing and the anti-bullying blogs are meant to do.  I will make a video for YouTube very soon as far as the bullying issue.  I had one completed and the bloody computer crashed and wiped out my media.

As I have said before to others, it is better to be proactive than reactive.  Either act or don’t complain about those that are doing nothing because they became complacent with the status-quo.  If you are not part of a solution, you are part of a problem. Period.  We have enough problems in this country to clean up without looking into any other country’s back yard–seriously.

As for the economy, I only have a little sliver–it’s called a paycheck.  I work my fanny off and live from paycheck to paycheck right now because I choose to.  I could go back into corrections–but why do that when working in that field almost turned me into a witch from hell riding a broom with a hemi attached to it?  Seriously. It took a while for me to get back to something close to normal again.

Quite frankly, I would be just peachy if good ol’ Uncle Sam would quit trying to take more of my sliver of the cake (Ben Cross brought this to mind when he made a post over the holidays about the “Fat Cats” paying their fair share…)  When I say sliver, I am talking about making less than $25K a year.  I manage–period.  I may not be among the Hollywood élite, but I am quite content with my little sliver.  That brings me to my next point.  I didn’t understand what the Occupy Movements were about FULLY until a good person named Christopher Pennock took the time and had the patience to point a few things out on his own FB page.  He’s a pretty cool guy…He played Jeb Hawkes on the original Dark Shadows series when I was a kid. Check out both Ben’s and Christopher’s page…Then go check out George Takei‘s page on FB…Now Mr. Takei will blow your mind with his humor, that’s for sure! He makes great points with it.

I will add this about Christopher Pennock though, while there are times he does get upset and go off a bit, he is honest and straight up.  I respect him for that.  Now if my friends I cut off were half the person with grace that he is, they would still be in my social circle. Sad thing is, I’ve known them for years.  This man is 68-years-old, and took rubber bullets and tear gas to fight for what he believes in during these protests. I admire that.  I don’t know of any other actor that braved it lately and he’s had a hip replacement!  Any of you who stand by the protesters should drop in on his page and give him some encouragement.

These protesters are not just out there to protest about the Wall St. “Fat Cats” as they are labelled.  They are also protesting corruption in the government–that government that wants to take more from those that only have a little sliver–no pensions, etc…while the “Fat Cats” still have loopholes. If this offends my friends who have known me for over 25 years that are IN the GOP and I am NOT–sorry it bothers you. It doesn’t bother me.  I have to stand where my conscience can be clear. At least I won’t lose sleep over it.

I also am wondering about this other dilemma I am going through…It is in the form of the question, “Why is it that nobody can ever be content with what they have?”  The Sheryl Crow song says it best, “…It’s not having what you want–It’s wanting what you’ve got.”  from Soak Up the Sun. I am asking that about our government right  now.  They always want more and the people get less. At least that is how it looks from this working class woman’s perspective.

I do not trust politicians regardless of party.  To me it comes down to this formula:  Honest + Politician = Oxymoron .  First you have the “Tea Party” in the GOP…If they take charge, I’m not so sure that they will “turn back the clock” as much as they would STOP the damned thing altogether.  Then you have the far left–which wants to roll out people like biscuit dough and make them all perfect–“one size fits all citizens” of whatever they want to call this nation, order, etc…  Free thinkers will suffer under the absolute rule of either one.  It is as if George Carlin had a point when he said that “The politicians are only there to make you think you have a choice”.   Do we really?  I wonder.

I am certain of one thing. Either party will use the artists and dreamers to their advantage and then toss them by the wayside when finished.  I do not trust them.  Indie is the way to go whether one is a musician or in film, I think. Why?  Those guys are more in tune with the desires of an audience than those with major recording labels and those in Hollywood are.  To me, to not go Indie is too much of a gamble.  Ask any musician who had to let someone else have rights to their music for 30 years…Some retirement plan, right?   I agree that scripts are probably better in the Indie market for the actors and such, too.

Anyway, if you think I’m off base here, then please feel free to tell me. It doesn’t bother me.  All of my life I will be learning and you may be the one to help me make more sense of all this crap going on that we call “life”…Know what I mean?  Feel free to send me a message on FB or email me if you like.  I’ll get to it as soon as I return from my cave.  Tune in whenever…Same bat time…Same bat channel…I’m riding off on the broom now! Goodnight…I close with 4 great links here:

http://www.fizgiggery.com/

https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100000464385450   “That’s to Mr. Pennock’s page”

https://www.facebook.com/actorbencross

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Gary-Cairns-II/33836534032   This guy is one of the coolest guy’s around…And he was in “Mad World”–a movie which really addresses the bullying issue, and that is the issue closest to my heart right now…

 

May 2012 bring all of you blessings!

 

One comment on “Signing Off for Now…

  1. Very good Tina! I hate when people are afraid to tell u to your face up front it’s like their hiding something. I’d never do that to you I stuck up for you that one time, and i’ll be glad to do it again for you!:)

Leave a Reply

