What now remains…Nana is sad tonight…

Seems silly to post a pic of a broken bowl, doesn’t it? Well this bowl has great historical significance in my life.

 

There were a lot of days that gravy was served from this bowl at my grandmother’s house…There were many days I carried this to the table, careful not to spill one precious drop of what was inside…At other times, I ate from it as an adult, long after my grandmother had passed.  To be honest it was the only thing I have left that was hers…Now here it lies shattered–as shattered as this heart was when I found it in this condition due to another family member’s carelessness.  I cried for hours.  The bowl itself was over 60 years old and went through several generations without so much as a nick.

I know what that family member will say, “Gee…It was just a bowl!”  Well guess what…It can never be replaced anymore than the woman who used to serve some of the best things in the world from it.  I have to go to the mountain in the morning and get this out of my system.  There are those who will say, “You are too attached to things.”  NO…I am attached to the memories and those are something that no one’s carelessness will ever destroy…Hostile? No…I am past that.  I am livid that someone would throw an iron skillet on top of a glass item in the sink to begin with…Had it been anything but Grannie’s bowl, I would be fine right now.

However another part of me wonders if future generations will appreciate anything that I hand down or if the attitude will be “Gee! It’s just a necklace! Or “Gee it’s just….”  whatever the case may be…It is very disheartening to think that future generations will take so much for granted.

I miss her so much…And this bowl being destroyed only brought back the memory of losing her…Thank you for your time. I just needed to sound off a bit.

Leave a Reply

