Want Proof America is Screwed Up? Here it is!

A little over 30 years ago, I gave birth to my first son, Eric.  I had worked from the time I was 15 years old–whether as a waitress, dishwasher, busing tables, cleaning toilets, etc…just to have the money to get what I needed or wanted.  I was never a party animal in my youth and am not really now.   However, when he was born all of my priorities changed…I found myself working 3 jobs and going to school at night. Granted, my sister Ruby helped me to take care of my kids–but it was still hard as hell to not have time with them for the sake of the almighty buck…

I could have been a “Welfare Mom”…You know, the ones most people like to bitch about, but I wasn’t.  I did draw public assistance between jobs and ADC once when my ex decided he wasn’t going to work and help pay for anything.  However, after that I was working 2 jobs and trying to finish up my degree.

If there is one thing that pisses me off it is when someone says, “I make more on unemployment than I can working at McDonald’s with my degree!”

Well excuse the hell out of me, but my taxes are supporting your ability to constantly sit on your ass so if you can make more, why the hell don’t you have a friggin’ job?  Seriously, that ticks me off. That is ego talking–not necessity.  There are places where McDonald’s pays $10-15 an hour starting (just like Wal~Mart around here) so you have no excuse anymore.  These are the type of people who would let their families starve before taking a job at ANY level. Well we weren’t born with the crown jewels on our heads and we won’t die with them there either…

My family ate a lot of beans, cornbread and potatoes, but that was paid for with my wages and sometimes (if I did get them)  food stamps.  NEVER would I turn down a job if I knew it would provide for my family. That is such BS.

I also have no problem with people who really need help. The elderly and disabled DO deserve help but not these people who use their degrees as an excuse to sit on their asses…I have a problem with those who say crap like this and refuse to work because they think doing labor or cleaning toilets is beneath their dignity and/or their education level. Having degrees does not make  us better than everyone else. It only guarantees an employer that we can read and write now. It is time to face reality. Nobody owes people like this a living.  

AND if necessary, I’d hide those credentials to get the job if times demanded it! A person who really wants a job and knows he/she can’t find one should NEVER disclose having a degree–especially if  they realize that they are in an area with a high rate of unemployment. 9 times out of 10 these employers come back with “You’re ‘overqualified.” which is more BS.  It is better to make that $9-10 an hour than to make ZERO dollars an hour. Get it yet?  

I think Obama is right about ONE thing. We need to get our priorities in order. That means as individuals we need to take responsibility for our actions, our lack of actions, our apathy, our lives and OUR CHILDREN and families.  Life will not hand you what you want, you have to work for it, so to those people who have degrees while sitting on their fanny while the rest of us work our butts off:  GET OFF YOUR ASS!   America is screwed up and you aren’t helping it.

 

Leave a Reply

