Anemia is a very serious thing…

The other day I had to go to the ER.  The staff was great. As usual, my dry wit kept them in stitches, until shit got serious.  I was walking around because sitting still is next to impossible for me and the doctor looked at me and said, “I don’t know how you’re walking right now.”   I said, “What to you mean?”  Then he said, “You need to go into the room. Your hemoglobin is at 5.  That’s not good.”

After asking him if I now qualify as an honorary cast member of the Walking Dead, I went back to the room and waited a bit.  I thought I’d get a shot and go home but I soon found out my condition is more complicated.

My body doesn’t absorb B12 from what I eat, so my body didn’t make enough healthy red blood cells. I got on the phone and found out from my mom that I was diagnosed with Pernicious Anemia as a kid. Well, I don’t remember much about my childhood but this stuff can get lethal–seriously.  Not getting enough B12 can lead to organ failure.  My condition was worsening and something had to be done.  The next thing I know, I got 2 pints of blood put into me.  I was also told that my iron was way too low even though I take iron so I have to up that dosage. My body doesn’t absorb that very well from food either.

On top of all of this, as it turned out, my excessive visit from Aunt Flo (as a dear friend calls it) was actually hemorrhaging.  However, I was right about ONE thing in all of this…I am NOT going through menopause yet.  For that, I did get a shot and it’s finally coming to a trickle and I was told it will stop it. Thank god…

Anyway, this weekend was an adventure I’d rather not relive so I am going to be very proactive from here on in. I really thought my fatigue was in my head and the cravings for ice were from the intense West TX heat…I learned the cravings for ice is a condition called “Pica” which is one of the symptoms of the anemia when it is getting very bad. My co-workers had also noticed my energy level was down and I was (in their words) “chalk-white” for some time. They had told me to slow down for a month now.

The moral of the story is, “Don’t assume anything is in your imagination. Most likely, it’s not. Take care of your body because you only have one life and to not take care of these things early is a wee bit on the insane side.”

 

Leave a Reply

