Since WHEN Does ANYONE Need to “JUSTIFY” Their Opinion?

I will  never understand why it is some of these “armchair” experts who come onto Facebook think they are entitled to have someone justify their “opinion” on something. Unless my opinion directly hinders their ability to go out and buy a product of their choice or enjoy a night on the town, then it is just rather childish for them to keep goading me for a response on such things.  I start by saying, “What’s it to you when you aren’t going to change my opinion on it?” and they keep on and on like the damned Duracell Bunny.  Look familiar?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5BQITyhgUCM

Like the puppy that won’t let up–they keep on playing around until they give up or I block them.  Look, if one is going to be on Facebook,  then he/she needs to learn when to back off. Nobody and I mean NOBODY has to justify to anyone why they have opinions on certain issues that they do. That is life.  Be an adult about it and deal with it. If you go in there looking for a debate or a fight, then you’ve already lost on your point.

I have certain opinions on life and such. Everyone else does too.  However, I’m not going to debate anyone on those issues because WHAT led me to have those opinions is none of their bloody business.  Nobody on Facebook is going to try to sit there and (as one idiot I blocked put it) analyze my motivations and such.  I really have no motivations in the sense this guy was alluding to–and deluding himself in the process. I am an older woman and I have my own thoughts on life and how things SHOULD  be.  IF my opinion (or any poster’s opinion) is posted, it is not for the purpose of public debate.  On many issues my opinion is fixed. It won’t change and this person just could not accept that and shut up.  So yeah…I blocked him.  When they become argumentative trolls that is the best thing to do.

And it really irks me when these trolls are young enough to be my kid, too.  Some of them should have been taken to the woodshed like their parents were, and given a damned good hiding!  Don’t get me wrong, I don’t like spanking children but I can think of a few adults who need a hiding more than their kids EVER did!  There are examples of these all over Facebook too!

I think some of this behavior goes to an entitlement mentality.  There are people out there who feel that they have some sort of divine or universal right to question everyone and everything and try to box them into a position of having to justify themselves over the most ridiculous stuff.  I don’t know about the rest of you, but I don’t have to justify “WHY” I have a certain opinion to ANYBODY if I don’t want to. That is all there is to that.  If these types of people cannot deal with the fact that my opinion may differ from THEIRS then they have a personal problem.   In fact, to me they are just another form of bully, which I will not tolerate.

Leave a Reply

